Casein


Find Allergy Clinics »

Casein is a salt bi product of calcium and can therefore be found in many milk and dairy products. It is often used in the form of rennet to make cheese. It can also be used in a non-edible way to make things like make-up and paints as well as various types of adhesive products (such as woodworking glue and packaging adhesives). People who suffer from a casein allergy or intolerance can often reduce or eliminate their symptoms by avoiding all dairy products. Reading product labels is especially important as casein may be found in products you might otherwise have thought safe to ingest. For example, soya cheese often incorporates a dairy derived casein which may prompt an allergic reaction.